Shredding Files and Directories
When you delete a file, only reference to its data is deleted and the data itself remains on disk until another file's data overwrites it. You can use Undelete utility (e.g. the Undelete plugin) to recover deleted file. If you want to prevent undeleting of files, you need to shred them. It makes recovering of deleted files very difficult if not impossible (surely impossible for common undelete utilities).
To shred files and directories:
- Select the files and directories which you want to shred (irreversibly delete).
- Open the Shred Files dialog box:
Menu: Plugins/Encrypt & Decrypt/Shred Files... Shortcut key: Ctrl+Shift+S
- Select a shredding method and number of passes. See the Shredding Methods section in How It Works for details.
- Choose the OK button to start shredding.